Heritage plaque unveiled at The Newton to recognise the historic site of the Fleur De Lys hotel
Cambridge City Councillor for West Chesterton Damien Tunnacliffe was on hand today to speak to residents within the De Freville area attending the unveiling of a heritage plaque at The Newton in Humberstone Road.
The plaque commemorates the original use of the site by the Fleur De Lys Hotel, which according to documents found in the Cambridge Collection - a fascinating collection of books, newspapers and illustrations put together by local historian and lecturer Mike Petty - first opened its doors in 1899.
Originally owned by The Star Brewery, the building changed hands several times until it was bought by Chard Robinson and operated as The Fleur Bar & Bistro.
The site, together with that of the neighbouring Cam Guest House on Elizabeth Way, is now home to the company's award-winning residential development The Newton - comprising 23 contemporary one-bedroom and studio apartments designed to meet the changing needs of students attending Universities in Cambridge. The brand new building of complementary Victorian style, incorporates an exacting recreation of the original facade, including retained stone elements painstakingly restored by Cambridge stone masons, Hibbitt and Sons.
Company directors Stephen Chard and Neil Robinson said: " Ever since The Newton was completed in June 2014, people have commented on how faithful and sympathetic the design of The Newton is to the original Fleur De Lys Hotel. We are continually congratulated on the quality of the building. It was great to be able to clean and restore so much of the original stonework and incorporate it into the new building despite it having been gloss painted for so many years."